Loading...
Rallies 2018-10-10T11:06:17+00:00

Rallies, Saunters and Sails in Company

We organise three different types of sailing events, alongside the race programme for dinghies and cruisers.  An explanation of these are below.  to sign up for any event, please see the main noticeboard in the clubhouse.

Saunter

A saunter is a day sail to a local destination in your dinghy or cruiser.  In 2017, these events were very well attended and after a short sail, club members and their guests usually met up to go to a local pub or restaurant to have a meal.  Alternatively, a BBQ on the beach was popular.  On some of these saunters there are also group activities that may interest members.  For further information, please see the posters at the club, here on the website or on our year book.

Rally

A rally is a trip usually over one or two nights to destinations a bit further afield.  Upon arrival there is normally a visit to a local landmark, attraction or an opportunity to meet up for a pontoon party.  This is often followed by an evening meal.  These rallies are a chance to experience local harbours or other sailing clubs in the Solent area.

Sail in Company

A sail in company is to destinations further outside the Solent.  In 2018 we had a sail in company to Cherbourg and one to Poole.  These are flexible trips dependent on the weather and usually are a trip lasting 3 – 7 days.  The is where a group of boats leave at set times together and remain in company for the trip.  There may be restrictions advised on speed of boat and size due to distance and these trips are usually planned with alternate destinations if the weather is not ideal of the one planned.

Rally Programme

Our diary of rallies is shown below:

Date Day HW Event  Time
MAY
09-May Mon 13.30 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:30
10-May Tues 14.23 Cruiser Saunter ? 13:00
17-May Tues 8.47 Cruiser Saunter ? 09:00
23-May Mon 12.58 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:30
24-May Tues 13.26 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:00
25-May Wed 13.59 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:30
28-May Sat 3.44 Bank Hol/SWSA to Cherbourg
16.20 (Start off Lymington)
29-May Sun 4.41 Bank Holiday Week-end
17.21
30-May Mon 5.26 Bank Holiday Week-end
31-May Tues 6.38 / 19.25 Cruiser Saunter ? 08:00
JUNE
01-Jun Wed 7.54 / 20.36 Cruiser Saunter ? 10:00
04-Jun Sat 10.55 Yarmouth Rally/Race with SWSA 11:00
05-Jun Sun 11.40 Return from Yarmouth 09:00
07-Jun Tues 13.17 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:00
08-Jun Wed 14.10 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:30
09-Jun Thurs 14.43 Cruiser Saunter ? 13:00
20-Jun Mon 11.47 Cruiser Saunter ? 10:00
21-Jun Tues 12.43 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:00
22-Jun Wed 13.11 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:30
23-Jun Thurs 13.44 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:00
JULY
05-Jul Tues 12.20 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:30
06-Jul Wed 13.07 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:30
07-Jul Thurs 13.54 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:00
16-Jul Sat 9.07 Rally to Island Harbour 10:00
17-Jul Sun 10.01 Back From Island Harbour
19-Jul Tues 11.27 Cruiser Saunter ? 10:00
20-Jul Wed 12.02 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:00
AUG.
01-Aug Mon 10.45 Cruiser Saunter ? 09:30
02-Aug Tues 11.28 Cruiser Saunter ? 10:00
03-Aug Wed 12.11 Cruiser Saunter ? 11:30
13-Aug Sat 7.00 Rally/Race to Bembridge 09:00
14-Aug Sun 8.45 Return from Bembridge 10:00
20-Aug Sat 13:15 Flyers/dinghy/cruiser 09:30
rally TBC
21-Aug Sun 0.57 Return from rally 10:00
SEPT.
01-Sep Thurs 11.56 Cruiser Saunter ? 10:00
20-Sep Tues 14.07 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:00
21-Sep Wed 14.57 Cruiser Saunter ? 12:30
22-Sep Thurs 15.59 Cruiser Saunter ? 14:00
Please contact the saunter co-ordinator at the start of the respective week to ascertain if the saunter will be taking place due to weather conditions.
Cruiser Captain (Rallies) is: Phil Pascoe
Dates and events in bold type are the Clubs main organised race/rallies.